There was a mansion that rested on top of a hill…

After much postponing and delay on my part, here it finally is, the Mahōtsukai no Yoru demo translation!

mahoyodemo_trans (This is the PDF version, purely for reading)

mahoyodemo_trans (This is the text version, for anyone who wants to use it in a patch or something. Credit is all I ask!)

As I said on a few comments, the delays were largely my fault. Christmas vacation, which was supposed to be my time to work on this, became board game time with the family, and Memoir ’44 is so hard to put down. Also, I got KoF XIII and it is a really good fighting game; let’s just leave it at that.

The translation process had an unexpected level difficulty. As I’m sure most of you have learned by now, the demo is not actually one contiguous portion of the story, but a bunch of chapters in random points in the story, which may or may not even be in order of chronology. A lot of characters were referring to previous events that had already taken place (which means I have no context with which to refer to), and there were a few places here and there that I suspect were trying to explain context, but were obviously crowbarred in there to let the demo reader not totally be in the dark, but in practice ended up being a completely awkward digressionary flashback (the scene with Sōjūrō remembering the classroom lecture, as well as the scene where Sōjūrō meets with Kumari comes to mind). Oh well, pretty sure it’ll not be there in the actual game come April anyway.

As for scenes where I had to mostly guess context, these were few and far between, but enough for me to say the caveat that some of the phrasing of these scenes will obviously change once the actual game shows up and I have a complete story to work with. Again, any criticism and pointing out of mistakes is welcome, no matter how red in the face it makes me. I’m still learning this language same as anyone, and I’d be glad to share notes with anyone else who has a different idea of how to translate any particular scene.

Alright, back to Mansions of Madness with me…

EDIT: Made some changes to a paragraph that I read immensely incorrectly (see comments below). This is one of those “red in the face” moments I mentioned earlier. It is totally fine though! I am very welcoming of any critique or correction that anyone throws at me, whether its stylistic, in translation, or otherwise. It’s not like I’m going to react by sitting slumped in a chair, flicking a lighter on and off, and wondering where it all went wrong, or something.

16 Responses to “There was a mansion that rested on top of a hill…”

  1. blacksaber Says:

    Great, thank you for this :)

  2. Thanks for your hard work, i’ll change it with my own country trans. ;3

  3. Thank you for your work :)
    Nice

    • Haha, and so I have! I submit no excuses on my part; I really was at a loss at that part, and decided to go with what my mind interpreted. I apologize for this, and it’ll be corrected as soon as I have time later. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. Perhaps I well deserve the ball-kicking that another man suggests on the next page.

      On a greater note, this has highlighted the vagaries of self-editing if anything else. I’ll really have to tap my network of Japanese learning friends to give everything I translate a test read next time. Thanks again, and big apologies.

  4. Thanks for the rewrite.

  5. Thank You very much :D

  6. Thank you for putting an end to 4 years of waiting…Seriously.

  7. [...] produkcji studia type-moon. Tłumaczenie w formie pdf i zwykłej tekstowej można pobrać ze strony tłumacza. Ponadto ludziom z rosyjskiego forum udało się ‘wsadzić’ tekst do gry i ponoć [...]

  8. [...] jugar a la versión demo que los fans han traducido al inglés. Desde el blog Empty Boundaries han colgado la traducción en texto, y un fan con ganas y moral lo  ha trasladado directamente a la demo. [...]

  9. TopographicOcean Says:

    I’m a little late it seems, but I’d like to thank you for your efforts to translate the demo.

    All I could think after going through the demo raw was that I needed to brush up on my Kanji!

  10. お疲れ様でした~

    Think you’ll be working on the full game? On Beast’s Lair, I don’t think there’s that much will (by us translators, at least) to do it yet with hollow still a work in progress.

    Anyway, we’ll see come April.

  11. [...] the PC in Japan. There are two ways you can play the demo in English – fan blog, Empty Boundaries has posted a text translation or you can grab the translated demo, which incorporates the text translation into the demo, over at [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

